Caligula (Play)

by Albert Camus


Albert Camus notes in his Preface that, although he has "the most passionate attachment for the theater," he has "the misfortune" of liking only one kind of play, whether comic or tragic. He concludes that there is no true theater without language and style, nor any dramatic work which does not, like our classical drama and the Greek tragedians, involve human fate in all its simplicity and grandeur. Without claiming to equal them, he says, these four plays are "at least the models to set oneself." The plays making up this collection were written between 1938 and 1950, and include: Caligula ~ The Misunderstanding ~ State of Siege ~ The Just Assassins.

Member Reviews Write your own review

Be the first person to review

Log in to comment