Crossing the Water

Poetry by Sylvia Plath


Crossing the Water is a 1971 posthumous collection of poetry by Sylvia Plath that was prepared for publication by Ted Hughes. These are transitional poems that were written along with the poems that appear in her poetic opus, Ariel. The collection was published in the UK by Faber & Faber and in the USA by Harper & Row.
The poems here tend to dwell on one's state of being in an environment. Wuthering Heights, for example, details a walk that Plath takes along the Yorkshire moors where Emily Brontë once trekked, Finisterre is a stormy island where Plath and her family once visited and Among the Narcissi describes Plath's similarities at being among asexual vegetation.

First Published


Member Reviews Write your own review

Be the first person to review

Log in to comment