Doctor Copernicus

Speculative fiction by John Banville


Doctor Copernicus is a novel by John Banville, first published in 1976. "A richly textured tale" about Nicolaus Copernicus, it won that year's James Tait Black Memorial Prize.
Doctor Copernicus contains four sections. The first two focus on the subject's life up until about the age of 36, while the fourth focuses on the subject's death.
Thirty years after it first appeared Brian McIlroy praised Doctor Copernicus for its "great intellectual ambition." Linda Hutcheon, in A Poetics of Postmodernism, that it is a "historiographic metafiction."

Member Reviews Write your own review

Be the first person to review

Log in to comment