Les Thanatonautes

Science Fiction, Novel by Bernard Werber


Les Thanatonautes is a 1994 science fiction novel by French writer Bernard Werber. The book deals with the search for afterlife.
Les Thanatonautes is first in a five-part series. Together with L'Empire des anges and Nous les dieux, it makes up the Les Thanatonautes trilogy. Nous les dieux, together with Le souffle des dieux and Le mystère des dieux, make up the Nous les dieux trilogy.
The book, which one could classify as philosophic science fiction, takes us on a voyage to the last unexplored continent, death. The term thanatonaute is derived from "thanatologie", comes from the Greek god of death Thanatos and nautis and thus signifies navigator of death or explorer of death.
The novel tells the story of a researcher Michael Pinson and his friend Raoul Razorbak who go explore the Ultimate Continent: the continent of death. This adventure takes us across the different zones of the continent of the dead to the famous light. In doing these explorations the thanatonautes voluntarily risk their lives to discover the mysteries of death.

First Published


Member Reviews Write your own review

Be the first person to review

Log in to comment