Paingod and other delusions

Short story by Harlan Ellison


Paingod and Other Delusions is a collection of short stories by author Harlan Ellison. It was originally published in paperback in 1965 by Pyramid Books. Pyramid reissued the collection four times over the next fifteen years, with a new introduction added for a uniform edition of Ellison books in 1975. Ace Books issued an edition in 1983. The collection's only hardcover edition is The Fantasies of Harlan Ellison, which compiles it together with Ellison's "I Have No Mouth and I Must Scream".
The general theme that runs through each of these stories is the rejection of the establishment and the fight of the individual against a corrupt authority. ""Repent, Harlequin!" Said the Ticktockman", "Wanted In Surgery", and "The Crackpots" are particularly famous examples of this theme in Ellison's work.

First Published


Member Reviews Write your own review

Be the first person to review

Log in to comment