The Book of Evidence

Novel by John Banville


The Book of Evidence is a 1989 novel by the Irish writer John Banville. The book is narrated by Freddie Montgomery, a 38-year-old scientist, who murders a servant girl during an attempt to steal a painting from a neighbour. Freddie is an aimless drifter, and though he is a perceptive observer of himself and his surroundings, he is largely amoral.
Many of the characters in The Book of Evidence appear in the 1993 sequel Ghosts.

First Published


Member Reviews Write your own review

Be the first person to review

Log in to comment