The Lay of the Land

fiction by Richard Ford
We can tell you if you would like this book! Take the tour to see how it works!


The Lay of the Land is a 2006 novel by American author Richard Ford. The novel is the third in what is now a four part series, preceded by the novels The Sportswriter and Independence Day; and followed by Let Me Be Frank With You, a collection of "long" stories. Each of these books follows a portion of the life of Frank Bascombe, a real estate agent moving through early middle age towards his later years in the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy. The Lay of the Land was nominated for a 2006 National Book Critics Circle Award.

First Published


Member Reviews Write your own review

Be the first person to review

Log in to comment