The most popular books in English.

What books are currently the most popular and which are the all time classics? Here we present you with a mixture of those two criteria. We update this list once a month.

32602. Baron Bagge Count Luna

Alexander Lernet-Holenia

Two short novels deal with the experiences of a military officer at the close of World War I, and with the guilt of an industrialist who inadvertently causes Count Luna to be sent to a concentration camp in war-torn Europe

32624. Destiny's Journey

Alfred Döblin

Destiny's Journey is a 1949 autobiography by German author Alfred Döblin. In this book Döblin gives an account of his experiences of exile and war between 1940 and 1948. Beginning with his flight from Paris on the eve of the Nazi invasion, Destiny's Journey chronicles his escape …

32625. Don Juan : his own version

Peter Handke

A MODERN MASTER'S WRY AND ENTERTAINING TAKE ON HISTORY'S BEST-KNOWN LOVER In Don Juan, Peter Handke offers his take on the famous seducer. Don Juan's story—"his own version"—is filtered through the consciousness of an anonymous narrator, a failed innkeeper and chef, into whose …

32640. Goethe: Selected Works (The Sorrows of Young …

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

One of the towering figures of world literature, Goethe has never held quite as prominent a place in the English-speaking world as he deserves. This collection of his four major works, together with a selection of his finest letters and poems, shows that he is not only one of …

32643. Trozas

B. Traven

32705. Debunked!: ESP, Telekinesis, and Other Pseudoscience

Georges Charpak

Debunked!: ESP, Telekinesis, and Other Pseudoscience is a book by Georges Charpak and Henri Broch.

32789. Oeuvres


32797. The Future of Culture in Egypt

Taha Hussein

The Future of Culture in Egypt is a 1938 book by the Egyptian writer Taha Hussein. The book is a work of Egyptian nationalism advocating both independence and the adoption of various European modes of behaviour and institutions such as a strong military. The book was written …

continue with book 32801 - 33000