The most popular books in English.

What books are currently the most popular and which are the all time classics? Here we present you with a mixture of those two criteria. We update this list once a month.

36601. The Betrayal of the Self: The Fear of Autonomy in …

Arno Gruen

Love or power ? these are the opposing poles of a choice every child is compelled to make, very early in its life, in a drama that sets it irrevocably on its path through life. This startling new insight into a formative experience fundamental to our development is the subject …

36602. Henry, King of France

Heinrich Mann

In Henry, King of France, the sequel to Young Henry of Navarre, the compelling epic of Henry IV's reign over France is followed to its tragic destiny. The novel recounts two decades of chaos and war that led to the triumphant founding of the French Republic and culminated in the …

36616. Roy & Al

Ralf König

Roy & Al is a book written by Ralf Konig.

36623. Settlement

Christoph Hein

Settlement is a book written by Christoph Hein.

36630. Traveling on One Leg

Herta Müller

Traveling on One Leg is a novel by Nobel Prize-winning author Herta Müller, published in German in 1989 by Rotbuch Verlag. An English translation was made available in 1998. The protagonist Irene is a German-speaking woman in her mid-thirties who has just emigrated from Romania …

36664. Germany. A Winter's Tale

Heinrich Heine

Germany. A Winter's Tale is a satirical epic poem by the German writer Heinrich Heine, describing the thoughts of a journey from Paris to Hamburg the author made in Winter 1843. The title refers to Shakespeare's Winter's Tale, similar to his poem Atta Troll: Ein …

36666. The City

Max Weber

The City is a book by Max Weber, a German economist and sociologist. It was published posthumously in 1921. In 1924 it was incorporated into a larger book, Economy and Society. An English translation was made in 1958 and several editions have been released since then. It is …

36705. Inhibitions, symptoms and anxiety

Sigmund Freud

Inhibitions, Symptoms and Anxiety is the 1926 book written by Sigmund Freud.

36735. Some Folk Think the South Pole's Hot: The Three …

Elke Heidenreich

Sprightly rhymed couplets tell this lengthy surreal tale of the nattily dressed penguins who joyfully welcome the Opera Ship from Old Vienna to the South Pole. And who should be onboard but the legendary Three Tenors! The excited, already properly attired audience includes …

36758. Deviant Love

Sigmund Freud

Deviant Love is a book by Sigmund Freud.

36800. Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic …

Deborah Feldman

The instant New York Times bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman’s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape.The Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism is as mysterious as it is intriguing to outsiders. In this arresting …



continue with book 36801 - 37000