The most popular books in English.

What books are currently the most popular and which are the all time classics? Here we present you with a mixture of those two criteria. We update this list once a month.

36801. The Betrayal of the Self: The Fear of Autonomy in …

Arno Gruen

Love or power ? these are the opposing poles of a choice every child is compelled to make, very early in its life, in a drama that sets it irrevocably on its path through life. This startling new insight into a formative experience fundamental to our development is the subject …

36802. Henry, King of France

Heinrich Mann

In Henry, King of France, the sequel to Young Henry of Navarre, the compelling epic of Henry IV's reign over France is followed to its tragic destiny. The novel recounts two decades of chaos and war that led to the triumphant founding of the French Republic and culminated in the …

36805. The Old Child & Other Stories

Jenny Erpenbeck

The Old Child & Other Stories introduces in English one of Germany’s most original and brilliant young authors, Jenny Erpenbeck. Written in spare, highly concentrated language, "a sustained feat of verbal economy" (Die Zeit), the one novella and four stories in The Old Child …

36825. Traveling on One Leg

Herta Müller

Traveling on One Leg is a novel by Nobel Prize-winning author Herta Müller, published in German in 1989 by Rotbuch Verlag. An English translation was made available in 1998. The protagonist Irene is a German-speaking woman in her mid-thirties who has just emigrated from Romania …

36865. The City

Max Weber

The City is a book by Max Weber, a German economist and sociologist. It was published posthumously in 1921. In 1924 it was incorporated into a larger book, Economy and Society. An English translation was made in 1958 and several editions have been released since then. It is …

36869. Modesty Blaise

Peter O'Donnell

Modesty Blaise is an action-adventure/spy fiction novel by Peter O'Donnell first published in 1965, featuring the character Modesty Blaise which O'Donnell had created for a comic strip in 1963.

36872. Sonnets to Orpheus

Rainer Maria Rilke

The Sonnets to Orpheus are a cycle of 55 sonnets written in 1922 by the Bohemian-Austrian poet Rainer Maria Rilke. It was first published the following year. Rilke, who is "widely recognized as one of the most lyrically intense German-language poets," wrote the cycle in a period …

36888. The Left Leg

Phoebe Atwood Taylor

The Left Leg is a novel that was published in 1940 by Phoebe Atwood Taylor writing as Alice Tilton. It is the fourth of the eight Leonidas Witherall mysteries.

36899. No Country for Young Men

Julia O'Faolain

No Country for Young Men is a book written by Julia O'Faolain.

36900. The Judge: An Untrue Tale

Harve Zemach

The Judge: An Untrue Tale is a book written by Harve Zemach and illustrated by Margot Zemach.

36911. A vision of Britain

Prince Charles

A Vision of Britain: A Personal View of Architecture is a 1989 book written by Charles, Prince of Wales.

36912. Collected shorter poems, 1946-1991

Hayden Carruth

Collected Shorter Poems, 1946-1991 is a book by Hayden Carruth.

36934. Some Folk Think the South Pole's Hot: The Three …

Elke Heidenreich

Sprightly rhymed couplets tell this lengthy surreal tale of the nattily dressed penguins who joyfully welcome the Opera Ship from Old Vienna to the South Pole. And who should be onboard but the legendary Three Tenors! The excited, already properly attired audience includes …

36939. The Economics and Ethics of Private Property

Hans-Hermann Hoppe

The Economics and Ethics of Private Property: Studies in Political Economy and Philosophy by Hans-Hermann Hoppe was first published in 1993 followed by a second edition in 2006.

36942. Knave of Hearts

Elizabeth Linington

Knave of Hearts is a book written by Dell Shannon.

36956. Eye for Eye

Orson Scott Card

Eye for Eye is a science fiction novella by Orson Scott Card. It first appeared in the March 1987 issue of Asimov's Science Fiction magazine. In 1990 it appeared in Card’s short story collection Maps in a Mirror and also as a Tor double novel, with The Tunesmith by Lloyd Biggle, …

36998. Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic …

Deborah Feldman

The instant New York Times bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman’s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape.The Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism is as mysterious as it is intriguing to outsiders. In this arresting …

36999. A Memory of Light (Wheel of Time)

Robert Jordan

Now in development for TV!Since 1990, when Robert Jordan's The Wheel of Time® burst on the world with its first book, The Eye of the World, readers have been anticipating the final scenes of this extraordinary saga, which has sold over forty million copies in over thirty …

37000. A Higher Loyalty: Truth, Lies, and Leadership

James Comey

In his forthcoming book, former FBI director James Comey shares his never-before-told experiences from some of the highest-stakes situations of his career in the past two decades of American government, exploring what good, ethical leadership looks like, and how it drives sound …



continue with book 37001 - 37200