The most popular books in English.

What books are currently the most popular and which are the all time classics? Here we present you with a mixture of those two criteria. We update this list once a month.

36801. The Betrayal of the Self: The Fear of Autonomy in …

Arno Gruen

Love or power ? these are the opposing poles of a choice every child is compelled to make, very early in its life, in a drama that sets it irrevocably on its path through life. This startling new insight into a formative experience fundamental to our development is the subject …

36802. Henry, King of France

Heinrich Mann

In Henry, King of France, the sequel to Young Henry of Navarre, the compelling epic of Henry IV's reign over France is followed to its tragic destiny. The novel recounts two decades of chaos and war that led to the triumphant founding of the French Republic and culminated in the …

36817. Settlement

Christoph Hein

Settlement is a book written by Christoph Hein.

36823. Traveling on One Leg

Herta Müller

Traveling on One Leg is a novel by Nobel Prize-winning author Herta Müller, published in German in 1989 by Rotbuch Verlag. An English translation was made available in 1998. The protagonist Irene is a German-speaking woman in her mid-thirties who has just emigrated from Romania …

36835. Harriet Spies Again

Louise Fitzhugh

Harriet Spies Again is a book written by Helen Ericson and Louise Fitzhugh.

36843. The Letter Left to Me

Joseph McElroy

The Letter Left to Me is Joseph McElroy's seventh novel. A letter from father to son is delivered to the son shortly after the father's death. The letter receives wider and wider circulation, and its continued effect on the son's life is described.

36849. Predator & Prey: Jury

Gherbod Fleming

Predator & Prey: Jury is a book published in 2001 that was written by Gherbod Fleming.

36860. Germany. A Winter's Tale

Heinrich Heine

Germany. A Winter's Tale is a satirical epic poem by the German writer Heinrich Heine, describing the thoughts of a journey from Paris to Hamburg the author made in Winter 1843. The title refers to Shakespeare's Winter's Tale, similar to his poem Atta Troll: Ein …

36862. The City

Max Weber

The City is a book by Max Weber, a German economist and sociologist. It was published posthumously in 1921. In 1924 it was incorporated into a larger book, Economy and Society. An English translation was made in 1958 and several editions have been released since then. It is …

36869. The House on Boulevard St

David Kirby

The House on Boulevard St is a book written by David Kirby.

36895. The Road of Azrael

Robert E. Howard

The Road of Azrael is a collection of historical short stories by Robert E. Howard. It was first published in 1979 by Donald M. Grant, Publisher, Inc. in an edition of 2,150 copies, of which, 300 were boxed and signed by the artist.

36899. Inhibitions, symptoms and anxiety

Sigmund Freud

Inhibitions, Symptoms and Anxiety is the 1926 book written by Sigmund Freud.

36949. Deviant Love

Sigmund Freud

Deviant Love is a book by Sigmund Freud.

36967. Lords of the Starship

Mark S. Geston

Lords of the Starship is a 1967 science fiction novel which marked the debut of author Mark S. Geston, written while he was a sophomore at Kenyon College. It was originally published in paperback by Ace Books, then reprinted for the British market in hardcover by Michael Joseph …

36974. Criminal Seduction

Darian North

Criminal Seduction is a book written by Darian North.

36985. The Long Shadow of Little Rock: A Memoir

Daisy Bates

The Long Shadow of Little Rock: A Memoir is a book written by Daisy Bates.

36986. Finders, Keepers: Eight Collectors

Rosamond Purcell

Finders, Keepers: Eight Collectors is a book by Stephen Jay Gould and Rosamond Purcell.

36995. Only Words

Catharine MacKinnon

Only Words is an influential work of feminist legal theory authored by Catharine MacKinnon in 1993. It contends that the U.S. legal system has used a First Amendment basis to protect intimidation, subordination, terrorism, and discrimination as enacted through pornography, …

36999. Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic …

Deborah Feldman

The instant New York Times bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman’s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape.The Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism is as mysterious as it is intriguing to outsiders. In this arresting …

37000. The Longest Ride

Nicholas Sparks

In the tradition of his beloved first novel, The Notebook, #1 New York Times bestselling author Nicholas Sparks returns with the remarkable story of two couples whose lives intersect in profound and surprising ways. Ira Levinson is in trouble. Ninety-one years old and stranded …



continue with book 37001 - 37200