The most popular books in English.

What books are currently the most popular and which are the all time classics? Here we present you with a mixture of those two criteria. We update this list once a month.

37401. The Betrayal of the Self: The Fear of Autonomy in …

Arno Gruen

Love or power ? these are the opposing poles of a choice every child is compelled to make, very early in its life, in a drama that sets it irrevocably on its path through life. This startling new insight into a formative experience fundamental to our development is the subject …

37402. Henry, King of France

Heinrich Mann

In Henry, King of France, the sequel to Young Henry of Navarre, the compelling epic of Henry IV's reign over France is followed to its tragic destiny. The novel recounts two decades of chaos and war that led to the triumphant founding of the French Republic and culminated in the …

37416. Settlement

Christoph Hein

Settlement is a book written by Christoph Hein.

37422. Traveling on One Leg

Herta Müller

Traveling on One Leg is a novel by Nobel Prize-winning author Herta Müller, published in German in 1989 by Rotbuch Verlag. An English translation was made available in 1998. The protagonist Irene is a German-speaking woman in her mid-thirties who has just emigrated from Romania …

37451. Germany. A Winter's Tale

Heinrich Heine

Germany. A Winter's Tale is a satirical epic poem by the German writer Heinrich Heine, describing the thoughts of a journey from Paris to Hamburg the author made in Winter 1843. The title refers to Shakespeare's Winter's Tale, similar to his poem Atta Troll: Ein …

37453. The City

Max Weber

The City is a book by Max Weber, a German economist and sociologist. It was published posthumously in 1921. In 1924 it was incorporated into a larger book, Economy and Society. An English translation was made in 1958 and several editions have been released since then. It is …

37488. Inhibitions, symptoms and anxiety

Sigmund Freud

Inhibitions, Symptoms and Anxiety is the 1926 book written by Sigmund Freud.

37532. Deviant Love

Sigmund Freud

Deviant Love is a book by Sigmund Freud.

37567. Mirror Sword and Shadow Prince

Noriko Ogiwara

Mirror Sword and Shadow Prince is a book published in 1991 that was written by Noriko Ogiwara.

37599. Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic …

Deborah Feldman

The instant New York Times bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman’s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape.The Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism is as mysterious as it is intriguing to outsiders. In this arresting …

37600. Real, Vol. 10 (Real (Viz))

Takehiko Inoue

Drama, tragedy and fast breaks...on wheels. Life goes on... Get Real. Real men, real basketball, real manga.Reads R to L (Japanese Style). That life-changing moment when you discover what you really want to do—Togawa had his a while back and is determined to achieve his goal. …



continue with book 37601 - 37800