The most popular books in English.

What books are currently the most popular and which are the all time classics? Here we present you with a mixture of those two criteria. We update this list once a month.

41201. Mozart: Portrait of a Genius

Norbert Elias

"Mozart's need for love had grown uncertain of itself in early childhood. His feeling of being unloved found constant confirmation in his changing experiences over the years, and the intensity of his unsatisfied desire to be loved, detectable as a dominant wish throughout his …

41202. In the Jungle of Cities

Bertolt Brecht

In the Jungle of Cities is a play by the German modernist playwright Bertolt Brecht. Written between 1921 and 1924, it received its first theatrical production under the title Im Dickicht at the Residenztheater in Munich, opening on 9 May 1923. This production was directed by …

41203. Franziska

Ernst Weiss

Following the death of her mother, Franziska turns away from love and follows a grimly determined path to achieve a career as a concert pianist. Her determination takes her from her humble home in a small Czech town to an unconventional life in Prague, and eventually draws to a …

41205. From Hegel to Nietzsche: The Revolution in …

Karl Lowith

From Hegel to Nietzsche: The Revolution in Nineteenth Century Thought is a book by Karl Löwith.

41217. The Call-Girls

Arthur Koestler

The Call-Girls: A Tragi-Comedy with Prologue and Epilogue is a novel by Arthur Koestler. Its publication date is given as 1 January 1972 and its plot tells the story of a group of academic scientists struggling to understand the human tendency towards self-destruction, while the …

41220. Diary of Sigmund Freud 1929-1939

Sigmund Freud

Diary of Sigmund Freud 1929-1939 is a book written by Sigmund Freud.

41270. A Contribution to the Critique of Political Economy

Karl Marx

A Contribution to the Critique of Political Economy is a book by Karl Marx, first published in 1859. The book is mainly an analysis of capitalism and quantity theory of money, achieved by critiquing the writings of the leading theoretical exponents of capitalism at that time: …

41272. Pesme

Endre Ady

41288. Stranger on the Square

Arthur Koestler

Stranger on the Square is the third volume of Arthur Koestler's autobiography, published posthumously in 1984. It was co-authored with his wife Cynthia Koestler, née Jefferies, and includes autobiographical notes of her as well. The book was published by Hutchinson, London 1984, …

41342. Puma

Ulf Miehe

continue with book 41401 - 41600