The most popular books in English
from 44201 to 44400

What books are currently the most popular and which are the all time classics? Here we present you with a mixture of those two criteria. We update this list once a month.

44201. Cherries of Freedom

Alfred Andersch

The Cherries of Freedom: A Report centers on Andersch's desertion from the Wehrmacht. The turning-point in Andersch's life, he interpreted it not as a fear of death but as an existential vote for life, libery and all things non-totalitarian.

44202. Efraim's Book

Alfred Andersch

The Efraim of the title is journalist George Efraim, who travels to his native Berlin to investigate the disappearance of a woman during World War II. His search for her eventually becomes a journey through his own past.

44203. Odysseus and Penelope: An Ordinary Marriage (Studies …

Inge Merkel

In this profound and entertaining novel, the Viennese historian and classicist, Inge Merkel, intimates with irony, humor, and a twinkle in her eye why it took Odysseus twenty years to return to his wife and son. It is the old story of long-suffering resourceful Odysseys told …

44204. Mozart: Portrait of a Genius

Norbert Elias

"Mozart's need for love had grown uncertain of itself in early childhood. His feeling of being unloved found constant confirmation in his changing experiences over the years, and the intensity of his unsatisfied desire to be loved, detectable as a dominant wish throughout his …

44211. Tales of a Long Night

Alfred Döblin

Tales of a Long Night is the last novel of German author Alfred Döblin. Set in England immediately after the Second World War, the novel narrates the story of Edward Allison, an English soldier who had been badly wounded during the war. Back among his family, Edward must deal …

44221. Diary of Sigmund Freud 1929-1939

Sigmund Freud

Diary of Sigmund Freud 1929-1939 is a book written by Sigmund Freud.

continue with book 44401 - 44600