The most popular books in English.

What books are currently the most popular and which are the all time classics? Here we present you with a mixture of those two criteria. We update this list once a month.

46203. Bracebridge Hall

Washington Irving

Bracebridge Hall, or The Humorists, A Medley was written by Washington Irving in 1821, while he lived in England, and published in 1822. This episodic novel was originally published under his pseudonym Geoffrey Crayon.

46204. The Hound of the Baskervilles

Arthur Conan Doyle

The Hound of the Baskervilles is the third of the crime novels written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle featuring the detective Sherlock Holmes. Originally serialised in The Strand Magazine from August 1901 to April 1902, it is set largely on Dartmoor in Devon in England's West Country …

46206. Some Thoughts Concerning Education

John Locke

Some Thoughts Concerning Education is a 1693 treatise on the education of gentlemen written by the English philosopher John Locke. For over a century, it was the most important philosophical work on education in England. It was translated into almost all of the major written …

46210. Bury My Heart at W. H. Smith's

Brian Aldiss

Bury My Heart at W. H. Smith's is a book written by Brian Aldiss

46215. Seedling

James Axler

Seedling is the thirteenth book in the series of Deathlands. It was written by Laurence James under the house name James Axler.

46226. Bribery, Corruption Also

H. R. F. Keating

Bribery, Corruption Also is a crime novel by H. R. F. Keating. It is the twenty-third novel in the Inspector Ghote series.

46228. Catharine Beecher; a study in American domesticity

Kathryn Sklar

Catharine Beecher; a study in American domesticity is a book written by Kathryn Sklar.

46241. A mortal flower

Han Suyin

A Mortal Flower is an autobiography by Han Suyin. It covers the years 1928 to 1938: her growing up in China and her journey to Belgium and her mother's family. Also her marriage to a rising officer in the Kuomintang and the retreat to Chungking in the face of the Japanese …

46242. Double or Nothing

Raymond Federman

Double or Nothing is a concrete novel by Raymond Federman originally published by Swallow Press, Chicago. It was the winner of the Frances Steloff Prize and The Panache Experimental Fiction Prize.

46246. Tarzan of the Apes

Edgar Rice Burroughs

Tarzan of the Apes is a novel written by Edgar Rice Burroughs, the first in a series of books about the title character Tarzan. It was first published in the pulp magazine All-Story Magazine in October, 1912. The character was so popular that Burroughs continued the series into …

46252. The Memory of Eva Ryker

Donald A. Stanwood

The Memory of Eva Ryker is a book written by Donald A. Stanwood.

46258. Renegade of Callisto

Lin Carter

Renegade of Callisto is a science fiction novel written by Lin Carter, the eighth and last in his Callisto series. It was first published in paperback by Dell Books in August 1978, and reprinted once, in November of the same year. A tribute to Edgar Rice Burroughs's The Chessmen …

46270. Lindbergh: The Crime

Noel Behn

Lindbergh: The Crime is a book written by Noel Behn.

46272. Inside Africa

John Gunther

Inside Africa is a book written by John Gunther.

46281. Featuring the Saint

Leslie Charteris

Featuring the Saint is a collection of three mystery novellas by Leslie Charteris, first published in the United Kingdom in February 1931 by Hodder and Stoughton. This was the fifth book to feature the adventures of Simon Templar, alias "The Saint". It was the first novella …

46283. Life on man

Theodor Rosebury

Life on man is a book written by Theodor Rosebury.

46289. Jasper Johns

Michael Crichton

Jasper Johns is a non-fiction coffee table book written by Michael Crichton about the artist Jasper Johns. It was originally published in 1977 by Harry N. Abrams, Inc. in association with the Whitney Museum of American Art, and a second revised edition was published in 1994. The …

46301. The course of German history

A. J. P. Taylor

The Course of German History is a non-fiction book by the English historian A. J. P. Taylor. It was first published in the United Kingdom by Hamish Hamilton in July 1945.

46303. The Prince and the Pauper

Mark Twain

The Prince and the Pauper is a novel by American author Mark Twain. It was first published in 1881 in Canada, before its 1882 publication in the United States. The novel represents Twain's first attempt at historical fiction. Set in 1547, it tells the story of two young boys who …

46304. Skylight

David Hare

Skylight is a play by British dramatist David Hare. The play premiered in the West End at the Cottesloe Theatre in 1995, moving to the Wyndham's Theatre in 1996. The play opened on Broadway in 1996 and again played the West End in 1997 and 2014. The 2014 production transferred …

46309. 'A livella


46325. The Probability Broach

L. Neil Smith

The Probability Broach is the first novel by American science fiction writer L. Neil Smith. It is set in an alternate history, the so-called Gallatin Universe, where a libertarian society has formed on the North American continent, styled the North American Confederacy.

46326. Evil Ascending

Michael A. Stackpole

Evil Ascending is a book published in 1991 that was written by Michael A. Stackpole.

46328. Sandbar Sinister

Phoebe Atwood Taylor

Sandbar Sinister, first published in 1934, is a detective story by Phoebe Atwood Taylor which features her series detective Asey Mayo, the "Codfish Sherlock". This novel is a mystery of the type known as a whodunnit.

46347. The Art of Computer Game Design

Chris Crawford

The Art of Computer Game Design by Chris Crawford is the first book devoted to the theory of computer and video games. It was originally published in Berkeley, California by McGraw-Hill/Osborne Media in 1984. The original edition is now out-of-print but from 1997 became …

46350. America Behind The Color Line

Henry Louis Gates, Jr.

America Behind The Color Line is a book written by Henry Louis Gates, Jr.

46356. Losing Absalom

Alexs D. Pate

Losing Absalom is the 1994 debut novel by Alexs Pate. The book was first published on April 1, 1994 through Coffee House Press and follows an African-American family's life and daily struggles in a North Philadelphia inner city.

46357. Sweet

Heather Byer

Heather Byer's memoir of her journey into eight-ball pool.

continue with book 46401 - 46600