Malér Eyrová

Novel, Alternate History by Jasper Fforde
We can tell you if you would like this book! Take the tour to see how it works!

Blurb

Fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse will love visiting Jasper Fforde's Great Britain, circa 1985, when time travel is routine, cloning is a reality (dodos are the resurrected pet of choice), and literature is taken very, very seriously: it’s a bibliophile’s dream. England is a virtual police state where an aunt can get lost (literally) in a Wordsworth poem and forging Byronic verse is a punishable offense. All this is business as usual for Thursday Next, renowned Special Operative in literary detection. But when someone begins kidnapping characters from works of literature and plucks Jane Eyre from the pages of Brontë's novel, Thursday is faced with the challenge of her career. Fforde's ingenious fantasy—enhanced by a Web site that re-creates the world of the novel—unites intrigue with English literature in a delightfully witty mix. Thursday’s zany investigations continue with six more bestselling Thursday Next novels, including One of Our Thursdays is Missing and the upcoming The Woman Who Died A Lot.

First Published

2001

Member Reviews Write your own review

skunk

Skunk

Eine sehr schöne Idee von Fforde: Literatur ist nicht nur immens populär, sondern es gibt einen Austausch zwischen der echten und der literarischen Welt. Darüber hinaus strotzt das Werk noch von weiteren phantastischen Ideen -- es spielt in einer alternativen Zeitlinie und verschiedene magische Erscheinungen sind real. Ein sehr bunter Kosmos...

0 Responses posted in February 2017
tinimini

Tinimini

Große Klasse, setzt aber einige Kenntnis der klassischen englischen Literatur (mindestens die ursprüngliche Jane Eyre) voraus. Fforde geht so wunderbar frech mit den würdevollen, teils verhärmten Figuren der Klassik um. Wer nicht gleich blass wird vor Ehrfurcht beim Lesen der Klassiker, wir dies mögen.

1 Response posted in July 2013
Log in to comment