The most popular books in English.

What books are currently the most popular and which are the all time classics? Here we present you with a mixture of those two criteria. We update this list once a month.

43403. Megaprojects and Risk

Bent Flyvbjerg

Megaprojects and Risk: An Anatomy of Ambition is a 2003 book by Bent Flyvbjerg, Nils Bruzelius, and Werner Rothengatter, published by Cambridge University Press. According to chief economist and director of transportation policy at Infrastructure Management Group, Inc., Porter …

43405. Black Beauty

Anna Sewell

Black Beauty is an 1877 novel by English author Anna Sewell. It was composed in the last years of her life, during which she remained in her house as an invalid. The novel became an immediate best-seller, with Sewell dying just five months after its publication, but long enough …

43406. A Legend of Montrose

Walter Scott

A Legend of Montrose is an historical novel by Sir Walter Scott, set in Scotland in the 1640s during the Civil War. It forms, along with The Bride of Lammermoor, the 3rd series of Scott's Tales of My Landlord. The two novels were published together in 1819.

43410. The Last Yankee

Arthur Miller

The Last Yankee is a play by Arthur Miller, which premiered on January 5, 1993 at the Manhattan Theatre Club in New York City. The cast included Tom Aldredge as John Frick, Frances Conroy as Patricia Hamilton, Rose Gregorio as Karen Frick, John Heard as Leroy Hamilton, and …

43411. Serpent Waltz

Jo Clayton

Serpent Waltz is a book published in 1994 that was written by Jo Clayton.

43415. From Hell

Alan Moore

From Hell is a graphic novel by writer Alan Moore and artist Eddie Campbell, originally published in serial form from 1989 to 1996 and collected in 1999, speculating upon the identity and motives of Jack the Ripper. The title is taken from the first words of the "From Hell" …

43417. The Enemy in the Blanket

Anthony Burgess

The Enemy in the Blanket is the second novel in Anthony Burgess's Malayan Trilogy The Long Day Wanes. The title is a literal translation of the Malay idiom "musuh dalam selimut", which means to be betrayed by an intimate, alluding to the struggles of marriage but also other …

43424. Humbug Mountain

Sid Fleischman

Humbug Mountain is a book written by Sid Fleischman.

43433. Seekers of Tomorrow

Sam Moskowitz

Seekers of Tomorrow: Masters of Modern Science Fiction is a work of collective biography on the formative authors of the science fiction genre by Sam Moskowitz, first published in hardcover by the World Publishing Company in 1965. The first paperback edition was issued by …

43434. The Threateners

Donald Hamilton

The Threateners is the title of a spy novel by Donald Hamilton first published in 1992. It was the twenty-sixth installment of the Matt Helm series, and saw the return of the character after a three-year hiatus.

43435. My Secret Life on the McJob: Lessons from Behind the …

Jerry Newman

My Secret Life on the McJob: Lessons from Behind the Counter Guaranteed to Supersize Any Management Style is a book by Jerry Newman about low-wage work in fast-food outlets. Newman is a distinguished professor at University at Buffalo School of Management who has taught business …

43439. The earth policy reader

Lester R. Brown

The earth policy reader is a book written by Lester R. Brown.

43453. Into the Land of the Unicorns

Bruce Cobille

Into the Land of the Unicorns is a children's fiction book that is part of The Unicorn Chronicles series by Bruce Coville. The series follows a girl named Cara, whose grandmother gives her an amulet that allows her to pass through into Luster, the land of the unicorns. While …

43465. Following the Water: A Hydromancer's Notebook

David M. Carroll

Following the Water: A Hydromancer's Notebook is a book written by David M. Carroll.

43468. Kandide and the Secret of the Mists

Diana S. Zimmerman

Kandide and the Secret of the Mists is the first novel by American author Diana S. Zimmerman and the first book in the Calabiyau Chronicles trilogy. The fantasy novel, set in the fairy kingdom of Calabiyau, relates the story of Princess Kandide’s banishment to the Veil of the …

43473. The Greeks Have a Word For It

Barry Unsworth

The Greeks Have a Word For It is the second novel by Booker Prize-winning author Barry Unsworth published by Hutchinson in 1967. It has since been republished by Weidenfeld & Nicolson in 1993 and W. W. Norton & Company in 2002. It has been praised for its 'utterly …

43474. Treasure Island

Robert Louis Stevenson

Treasure Island is an adventure novel by Scottish author Robert Louis Stevenson, narrating a tale of "buccaneers and buried gold". First published as a book on 14 November 1883 by Cassell & Co., it was originally serialized in the children's magazine Young Folks between 1881 …

43477. The Atmospheric Railway

Shena Mackay

The Atmospheric Railway: New and Selected Stories, is a 2008 short story collection by British author Shena Mackay comprising thirteen new stories, and twenty-three selected from earlier collections.

43485. A Mouthful of Air

Amy Koppelman

Through sparse, elegant prose,Amy Koppelman'sbrutally honest portrayal of family and self shows the reader that real problems are indiscriminate of money or birthright.A Mouthful of Airbrings to light the complexity and fragility of the human psyche.A Mouthful of Airbegins a few …

43498. The Shepherdess and the Chimney Sweep

Hans Christian Andersen

"The Shepherdess and the Chimney Sweep" is a literary fairy tale by Danish poet and author Hans Christian Andersen. The tale follows the romance between a china shepherdess and a china chimney sweep who are threatened by a carved mahogany satyr who wants the shepherdess for his …

43518. The Snow Queen

Hans Christian Andersen

"The Snow Queen" is an original fairy tale written by Hans Christian Andersen. The tale was first published 21 December 1844 in New Fairy Tales. First Volume. Second Collection. 1845. The story centers on the struggle between good and evil as experienced by Gerda and her friend, …

43520. Den hårde frugt

Tage Skou-Hansen

Den hårde frugt is the book written by Tage Skou-Hansen.

43522. Mydnight's Hero

Joe Dever

Mydnight's Hero is the twenty-third book of the award-winning Lone Wolf book series created by Joe Dever.

43547. The Emperor's New Clothes

Hans Christian Andersen

"The Emperor's New Clothes" is a short tale by Hans Christian Andersen about two weavers who promise an Emperor a new suit of clothes that is invisible to those who are unfit for their positions, stupid, or incompetent. When the Emperor parades before his subjects in his new …

43552. New Fairy Tales

Hans Christian Andersen

New Fairy Tales is a collection of four fairy tales written by Hans Christian Andersen and published by C. A. Reitzel in Copenhagen, Denmark on 10 November 1843. As was customary at the time however, the title page is dated 1844. The tales are completely Andersen's invention, …

43594. Fear and Trembling

Søren

Fear and Trembling is an influential philosophical work by Søren Kierkegaard, published in 1843 under the pseudonym Johannes de silentio. The title is a reference to a line from Philippians 2:12, "...continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling." — itself a …

43598. Thumbelina

Hans Christian Andersen

Thumbelina is a literary fairy tale by Hans Christian Andersen first published by C. A. Reitzel on 16 December 1835 in Copenhagen, Denmark with "The Naughty Boy" and "The Traveling Companion" in the second installment of Fairy Tales Told for Children. "Thumbelina" is about a …

43599. Small Data: The Tiny Clues That Uncover Huge Trends

Martin Lindstrom

Martin Lindstrom, a modern-day Sherlock Holmes, harnesses the power of “small data” in his quest to discover the next big thingHired by the world's leading brands to find out what makes their customers tick, Martin Lindstrom spends 300 nights a year in strangers’ homes, …

43600. Prodigy: A Legend Novel

Marie Lu

Featured on Entertainment Weekly's MUST-LIST!The highly anticipated second book in Marie Lu's New York Times bestseller, LEGEND—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT!June and Day arrive in Vegas just as the unthinkable happens: the Elector Primo dies, and his son …



continue with book 43601 - 43800