The Once and Future King

Novel, Fantasy by T. H. White


This is the complete box set of T. H. White's epic fantasy novel of the Arthurian legend. The novel is made up of five parts: The Sword in the Stone, The Witch in the Wood, The Ill-Made Knight, The Candle in the Wind and The Book of Merlyn. Merlyn instructs the Wart (Arthur) and his brother Sir Kay in the ways of the world. One of them will need it - the King has died leaving no heir, and a rightful one must be found by pulling a sword from an anvil resting on a stone. In the second and third parts of the novel, Arthur has become King and the kingdom is threatened from the north. In the final two books, the ageing king faces his greatest challenge, when his own son threatens to overthrow him. In The Book of Merlyn, Arthur's tutor Merlyn reappears, and teaches him that, even in the face of apparent ruin, there is hope.

First Published


Member Reviews Write your own review



I'll be honest, I couldn't finish it. Part 1 was to dry and requires too much suspense of disbelief. Part 2 actually had some really funny and well done commenters. I didnt rate this book low because of the quality of the work, it's just not my cup of tea.

0 Responses posted in September
Log in to comment