Uncle Tom's Children

Short story by Richard Wright


Uncle Tom's Children is a collection of short stories by African-American author Richard Wright, who is also the author of Black Boy, Native Son, and The Outsider. Uncle Tom's Children includes four short stories and was successful when it was first published in 1938. In 1940, Harper reissued the volume as Uncle Tom's Children: Five Long Stories, incorporating "Bright and Morning Star" as well as placing "The Ethics of Living Jim Crow" as the text's introduction.

First Published


Member Reviews Write your own review

Be the first person to review

Log in to comment