The most popular books in English.

What books are currently the most popular and which are the all time classics? Here we present you with a mixture of those two criteria. We update this list once a month.

34815. The Book of Bunny Suicides

Andy Riley

The Book of Bunny Suicides: Little Fluffy Rabbits Who Just Don't Want to Live Any More is a bestselling collection of mostly one-image black comedy cartoons drawn by author Andy Riley.

34818. Finn and Hengest

J. R. R. Tolkien

Finn and Hengest is a study by J. R. R. Tolkien, edited by Alan Bliss and published posthumously in book form in 1982. Finn and Hengest are two Anglo-Saxon heroes appearing in the Old English epic poem Beowulf and in the fragment of "The Fight at Finnsburg". Hengest has …

34821. Virginia

Ellen Glasgow

Virginia is a novel by Ellen Glasgow about a wife and mother who in vain seeks happiness by serving her family. This novel, her eleventh, marked a clear departure from Glasgow's previous work—she had written a series of bestsellers before publishing Virginia—in that it attacked, …

34827. Change the World Without Taking Power

John Holloway

Change the World Without Taking Power: The Meaning of Revolution Today is a book by John Holloway that looks at the concept of revolution. The book was first published in 2002. It opened up a wave of debate between Holloway and intellectuals on the far left. Many of these …

34831. The Gladiators from Capua

Caroline Lawrence

The Gladiators from Capua is a children's historical novel by Caroline Lawrence, published on June 3, 2004. The eighth book of the Roman Mysteries series, it is set primarily in the city of Rome in March AD 80, during the Inaugural Games at the newly built Flavian Amphitheatre, …

34833. Epp

Axel Jensen

34837. Conan

Robert E. Howard

Conan is a 1967 collection of seven fantasy short stories and associated pieces written by Robert E. Howard, L. Sprague de Camp and Lin Carter featuring Howard's seminal sword and sorcery hero Conan the Barbarian. Most of the stories were originally published in various pulp …

34838. King of the Khyber Rifles

Talbot Mundy

King of the Khyber Rifles is a novel by British writer Talbot Mundy. Captain Athelstan King is a secret agent for the British Raj at the beginning of the First World War. Heavily influenced both by Mundy's own unsuccessful career in India and by his interest in theosophy, it …

34845. Warring States

Mags L Halliday

Warring States is an original novel by Mags L Halliday set in the Faction Paradox universe. It has been described as 'another resounding success for the Faction Paradox line'

34846. Book of Matches

Simon Armitage

Book Of Matches is a poetry book written by Simon Armitage, first published in 1993 by Faber and Faber. Several poems featured in the book are studied as part of the GCSE English Literature examination in the UK. The book is written in three sections, the first containing 30 …

34847. The Night Watcher

John Lutz

Night Watcher is a book written by John Lutz.

34863. Li Lun, Lad of Courage

Carolyn Treffinger

Li Lun, Lad of Courage is a children's novel by Carolyn Treffinger. Set in China, it tells the story of a boy who tries to survive and grow rice on a barren mountain after being banished from his village. The novel, illustrated by Kurt Wiese, was first published in 1947 and was …

34864. Bear Party

William Pène du Bois

Bear Party is a book by William Pène du Bois.

34879. The Last Wizard

Simon Hawke

The Last Wizard is a book published in 1997 that was written by Simon Hawke.

34890. Texas

James A. Michener

Texas is a novel by American writer James A. Michener based on the history of the Lone Star State. Characters include real and fictional characters spanning hundreds of years, such as explorers, Spanish colonists, American immigrants, German Texan settlers, ranchers, oil men, …

34891. The Zork Chronicles

George Alec Effinger

The Zork Chronicles is a book published in 1990 that was written by George Alec Effinger.

34895. The Crocus List

Gavin Lyall

Crocus List is a third person narrative novel by English author Gavin Lyall, first published in 1985, and the third of his series of novels with the character “Harry Maxim” as the main protagonist.

34897. Blackout

Keith DeCandido

Blackout is an original novel based on the U.S. television series Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

34900. The Nine Tailors

Dorothy L. Sayers

The Nine Tailors is a 1934 mystery novel by British writer Dorothy L. Sayers, her ninth featuring sleuth Lord Peter Wimsey.

34901. The Bishop's Mantle

Agnes Sligh Turnbull

The Bishop's Mantle is a novel by Agnes Sligh Turnbull about the grandson of an American Episcopal bishop in New York City in the early years of World War II.

34903. The Summer Birds

Penelope Farmer

The Summer Birds is a children's novel by British writer Penelope Farmer, published in 1962 by Chatto & Windus, and receiving a Carnegie Medal commendation. It is the first of three books featuring the Makepeace sisters, Charlotte and Emma, These three books are sometimes …

34907. The Hidden City

Charles de Lint

The Hidden City is a book published in 1990 that was written by Charles de Lint.

34916. Life Happens: And Other Unavoidable Truths

Connie Schultz

From the 2005 Pulitzer Prize—winning columnist Connie Schultz comes fresh, clever, insightful commentary on life today: love, politics, social issues, family, and much, much more. In the tradition of Anna Quindlen, Molly Ivins, and Erma Bombeck, but with a distinctive voice and …

34940. First Love

Ivan Turgenev

First Love is a novella by Ivan Turgenev, first published in 1860. It is one of his most popular pieces of short fiction. It tells the love story between a 21-year-old girl and a 16-year-old boy, but things change when the girl falls in love with the boy's father.

34941. The Dragon's Carbuncle

Elizabeth H. Boyer

The Dragon's Carbuncle is a book published in 1990 that was written by Elizabeth Boyer.

34943. The Adventure of the Dancing Men and Other Sherlock …

Arthur Conan Doyle

The Adventure of the Dancing Men and Other Sherlock Holmes Stories is a collection of short stories by Arthur Conan Doyle.

34944. The Lion of Comarre and Against the Fall of Night

Arthur C. Clarke

The Lion of Comarre & Against the Fall of Night are early stories by Arthur C. Clarke collected together for publication in 1968 by Harcourt Brace and by Gollancz in London in 1970, it has been reprinted several times. Both concern Earth in the far future, with a utopian but …

34951. The Time Machine

H. G. Wells

The Time Machine is a science fiction novella by H. G. Wells, published in 1895. Wells is generally credited with the popularization of the concept of time travel by using a vehicle that allows an operator to travel purposefully and selectively. The term "time machine", coined …

34966. Firehand

Andre Norton

Firehand is a book published in 1994 that was written by Andre Norton and Pauline M Griffin.

34999. The Gathering Storm

Brandon Sanderson by Robert Jordan

The Gathering Storm is the 12th book of the fantasy series The Wheel of Time. It was incomplete when its author, Robert Jordan, died on September 16, 2007, from cardiac amyloidosis. His widow Harriet McDougal and publisher Tom Doherty chose Brandon Sanderson to continue the book …



continue with book 35001 - 35200