The most popular books in English.

What books are currently the most popular and which are the all time classics? Here we present you with a mixture of those two criteria. We update this list once a month.

36456. Randamoozham

M. T. Vasudevan Nair

Randamoozham is a 1984 Malayalam novel by M. T. Vasudevan Nair. It is widely credited as his masterpiece. It was translated into English as Second Turn in 1997. M. T. Vasudevan Nair won Vayalar Award, given for the best literary work in Malayalam, for the novel in 1985. Later, …

36468. Voices Made Night

Mia Couto

Voices Made Night is a collection of short stories by the Mozambican author Mia Couto. The stories were first published in Mozambique in 1986 and later picked up by the Portuguese publishing house Caminho and released in Lisbon, in 1987. Written at the height of the Mozambican …

36544. The Old Child & Other Stories

Jenny Erpenbeck

The Old Child & Other Stories introduces in English one of Germany’s most original and brilliant young authors, Jenny Erpenbeck. Written in spare, highly concentrated language, "a sustained feat of verbal economy" (Die Zeit), the one novella and four stories in The Old Child …

36598. The Betrayal of the Self: The Fear of Autonomy in …

Arno Gruen

Love or power ? these are the opposing poles of a choice every child is compelled to make, very early in its life, in a drama that sets it irrevocably on its path through life. This startling new insight into a formative experience fundamental to our development is the subject …

36599. Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic …

Deborah Feldman

The instant New York Times bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman’s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape.The Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism is as mysterious as it is intriguing to outsiders. In this arresting …



continue with book 36601 - 36800