The most popular books in English.

What books are currently the most popular and which are the all time classics? Here we present you with a mixture of those two criteria. We update this list once a month.

37001. The Betrayal of the Self: The Fear of Autonomy in …

Arno Gruen

Love or power ? these are the opposing poles of a choice every child is compelled to make, very early in its life, in a drama that sets it irrevocably on its path through life. This startling new insight into a formative experience fundamental to our development is the subject …

37002. Henry, King of France

Heinrich Mann

In Henry, King of France, the sequel to Young Henry of Navarre, the compelling epic of Henry IV's reign over France is followed to its tragic destiny. The novel recounts two decades of chaos and war that led to the triumphant founding of the French Republic and culminated in the …

37005. The Anatomy Lesson

John David Morley

The Anatomy Lesson is a novel by John David Morley, inspired by Rembrandt’s painting The Anatomy Lesson of Dr. Nicolaes Tulp.

37006. The Old Child & Other Stories

Jenny Erpenbeck

The Old Child & Other Stories introduces in English one of Germany’s most original and brilliant young authors, Jenny Erpenbeck. Written in spare, highly concentrated language, "a sustained feat of verbal economy" (Die Zeit), the one novella and four stories in The Old Child …

37029. Traveling on One Leg

Herta Müller

Traveling on One Leg is a novel by Nobel Prize-winning author Herta Müller, published in German in 1989 by Rotbuch Verlag. An English translation was made available in 1998. The protagonist Irene is a German-speaking woman in her mid-thirties who has just emigrated from Romania …

37035. Vapor

Amanda Filipacchi

Vapor is the second novel by American writer Amanda Filipacchi. It was translated into French, Italian, Dutch, Russian, and Polish. The novel was praised for an energetic originality showcasing a “prodigious postfeminist talent.”

37038. The Fortunes of Nigel

Walter Scott

The Fortunes of Nigel is a novel written by Sir Walter Scott. The setting is some time between 1616 and 1625.

37064. Shell Shock

Simon A. Forward

Shell Shock is an original novella written by Simon A. Forward and based on the long-running British science fiction television series Doctor Who. It features the Sixth Doctor and Peri. It was released both as a standard edition hardback and a deluxe edition featuring a …

37066. The City

Max Weber

The City is a book by Max Weber, a German economist and sociologist. It was published posthumously in 1921. In 1924 it was incorporated into a larger book, Economy and Society. An English translation was made in 1958 and several editions have been released since then. It is …

37072. Sonnets to Orpheus

Rainer Maria Rilke

The Sonnets to Orpheus are a cycle of 55 sonnets written in 1922 by the Bohemian-Austrian poet Rainer Maria Rilke. It was first published the following year. Rilke, who is "widely recognized as one of the most lyrically intense German-language poets," wrote the cycle in a period …

37078. Dead Skip

Joe Gores

Dead Skip is a book written by Joe Gores.

37085. Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde

Robert Louis Stevenson

Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde is the original title of a novella written by the Scottish author Robert Louis Stevenson that was first published in 1886. The work is commonly known today as The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, or simply …

37087. Mike

P. G. Wodehouse

Mike is a novel by P. G. Wodehouse, first published on 15 September 1909 by Adam & Charles Black, London. The story first appeared in the magazine The Captain, in two separate parts, collected together in the original version of the book; the first part, originally called …

37095. Walter Lippmann and the American Century

Ronald Steel

Walter Lippmann and the American Century is a book by Ronald Steel.

37098. Barkis

Clare Turlay Newberry

Barkis is a book by Clare Newberry.

37100. The Watchers Out of Time and Others

H. P. Lovecraft

The Watchers Out of Time and Others is an omnibus collection of stories by August Derleth inspired in part by notes left by H. P. Lovecraft after his death and presented as a "posthumous collaboration" between the two writers. It was published in an edition of 5,070 copies. …

37131. The Victim of Prejudice

Mary Hays

The Victim of Prejudice is a novel by the English novelist Mary Hays. Published in 1799, it is Hays' second novel. The novel, depicting the challenges that its protagonist, Mary, encounters throughout her life, underlines the difficulty that women experienced in gaining …

37134. Some Folk Think the South Pole's Hot: The Three …

Elke Heidenreich

Sprightly rhymed couplets tell this lengthy surreal tale of the nattily dressed penguins who joyfully welcome the Opera Ship from Old Vienna to the South Pole. And who should be onboard but the legendary Three Tenors! The excited, already properly attired audience includes …

37139. The Economics and Ethics of Private Property

Hans-Hermann Hoppe

The Economics and Ethics of Private Property: Studies in Political Economy and Philosophy by Hans-Hermann Hoppe was first published in 1993 followed by a second edition in 2006.

37182. Lincoln and Chief Justice Taney: Slavery, Secession, …

James F. Simon

Lincoln and Chief Justice Taney: Slavery, Secession, and the President's War Powers is a book written by James F. Simon.

37184. The Isis Pedlar

Monica Hughes

The Isis Pedlar is a young adult science fiction novel by Monica Hughes, the third in the Isis series, following The Guardian of Isis. It was first published in 1982. The book takes place in the distant future on the fictional world of Isis. Nine years have passed since the …

37194. One Man Great Enough: Abraham Lincoln's Road to …

John C. Waugh

One Man Great Enough: Abraham Lincoln's Road to Civil War is a book written by John C. Waugh.

37200. Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic …

Deborah Feldman

The instant New York Times bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman’s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape.The Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism is as mysterious as it is intriguing to outsiders. In this arresting …



continue with book 37201 - 37400