The most popular books in English.

What books are currently the most popular and which are the all time classics? Here we present you with a mixture of those two criteria. We update this list once a month.

37001. The Betrayal of the Self: The Fear of Autonomy in …

Arno Gruen

Love or power ? these are the opposing poles of a choice every child is compelled to make, very early in its life, in a drama that sets it irrevocably on its path through life. This startling new insight into a formative experience fundamental to our development is the subject …

37002. Henry, King of France

Heinrich Mann

In Henry, King of France, the sequel to Young Henry of Navarre, the compelling epic of Henry IV's reign over France is followed to its tragic destiny. The novel recounts two decades of chaos and war that led to the triumphant founding of the French Republic and culminated in the …

37015. The Wild Irish Girl

Lady Morgan

The Wild Irish Girl; a National Tale is an epistolary novel written by Irish novelist Sydney Owenson in 1806.

37017. Settlement

Christoph Hein

Settlement is a book written by Christoph Hein.

37023. Traveling on One Leg

Herta Müller

Traveling on One Leg is a novel by Nobel Prize-winning author Herta Müller, published in German in 1989 by Rotbuch Verlag. An English translation was made available in 1998. The protagonist Irene is a German-speaking woman in her mid-thirties who has just emigrated from Romania …

37044. The Land I Lost

Quang Nhuong Huynh

The Land I Lost is an autobiographical book that centers on the life of the author, Quang Nhuong Huynh. The book was first published by Harper & Row in 1982, and was illustrated by Vo-Dinh Mai. Huynh's second book, Water Buffalo Days, used multiple passages originally …

37054. Germany. A Winter's Tale

Heinrich Heine

Germany. A Winter's Tale is a satirical epic poem by the German writer Heinrich Heine, describing the thoughts of a journey from Paris to Hamburg the author made in Winter 1843. The title refers to Shakespeare's Winter's Tale, similar to his poem Atta Troll: Ein …

37057. The City

Max Weber

The City is a book by Max Weber, a German economist and sociologist. It was published posthumously in 1921. In 1924 it was incorporated into a larger book, Economy and Society. An English translation was made in 1958 and several editions have been released since then. It is …

37066. Second Variety: A Short Science Fiction Novel by …

Philip K. Dick

Science fiction enthusiasts, especially the fans of one of the best writers of the genre ever, Philip K. Dick, will surely love this delightful and action-packed short story by the master. The story provides a very grim perspective about the future of mankind. Humanity has been …

37090. The river beyond the world

Janet Peery

The river beyond the world is a book written by Janet Peery.

37095. The Casuarina Tree

W. Somerset Maugham

The Casuarina Tree is a collection of short stories set in 1920s Malaya by W. Somerset Maugham that came out of travels he paid for by working for the British Secret Service as a spy. It was first published by the UK publishing house, Heinemann, in 1926.

37097. Inhibitions, symptoms and anxiety

Sigmund Freud

Inhibitions, Symptoms and Anxiety is the 1926 book written by Sigmund Freud.

37099. A Floating Life

Simon Elegant

History and legend brilliantly combine in this bawdy "autobiographical" account of the life of famed rabble-rousing Chinese versemaker Li Po. A Floating Life is a magnificent portrayal of a critical time in China's history and the life of a literary legend. Nearly 1,300 years …

37108. A vision of Britain

Prince Charles

A Vision of Britain: A Personal View of Architecture is a 1989 book written by Charles, Prince of Wales.

37128. Son of a Witch

Gregory Maguire

Son of a Witch is a fantasy novel written by Gregory Maguire. The book is Maguire’s fifth revisionist story and the second set in the land of Oz originally conceived by L. Frank Baum. It is a sequel to Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West. Like Wicked, Son …

37149. Tucket's Home

Gary Paulsen

Tucket's Home is the fifth novel in The Tucket Adventures by Gary Paulsen. Francis finally recovering from a rattlesnake bite, he continues the trek to Oregon with Lottie and Billy. On their way they encounter a greenhorn English adventurer and his servants, Jason Grimes, …

37151. Deviant Love

Sigmund Freud

Deviant Love is a book by Sigmund Freud.

37168. Science, Order, and Creativity

David Bohm

Science, Order, and Creativity is a book by theoretical physicist David Bohm and physicist and writer F. David Peat. It was originally published 1987 by Bantam Books, USA, then 1989 in Great Britain by Routledge. The second edition, published in 2000 after Bohm`s death, …

37173. Rocket Jockey

Lester del Rey

Rocket Jockey is a juvenile science fiction novel by Philip St. John with cover illustration by Alex Schomburg. The story follows the heroic efforts of young man Jerry Blaine in his efforts to win the famous rocket race, the Armstrong Classic. Rocket Jockey is a part of the …

37181. The Saint and the Hapsburg Necklace

Leslie Charteris

The Saint and the Hapsburg Necklace is the title of a 1976 mystery novel featuring the character of Simon Templar, alias "The Saint". The novel is written by Christopher Short, but per the custom at this time, the author credit on the cover goes to Leslie Charteris, who created …

37188. The Dragon's Lair

Elizabeth Haydon

The Dragon's Lair is the third book in The Lost Journals of Ven Polypheme series by Elizabeth Haydon and published in June 2009. The book is illustrated by Jason Chan.

37193. Kylie: La La La

Kylie Minogue

Kylie: La La La is a photo/art book released by Australian singer Kylie Minogue. The books namesake comes from a line made famous in her hit single "Can't Get You Out of My Head". This is not a traditional biography but rather a pictorial biography that is a photographic look at …

37196. Frankenstein

SHELLEY

Frankenstein; or, The Modern Prometheus is a novel written by the English author Mary Shelley about the young science student Victor Frankenstein, who creates a grotesque but sentient creature in an unorthodox scientific experiment. Shelley started writing the story when she was …

37199. Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic …

Deborah Feldman

The instant New York Times bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman’s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape.The Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism is as mysterious as it is intriguing to outsiders. In this arresting …

37200. A Higher Loyalty: Truth, Lies, and Leadership

James Comey

In his forthcoming book, former FBI director James Comey shares his never-before-told experiences from some of the highest-stakes situations of his career in the past two decades of American government, exploring what good, ethical leadership looks like, and how it drives sound …



continue with book 37201 - 37400