The most popular books in English.

What books are currently the most popular and which are the all time classics? Here we present you with a mixture of those two criteria. We update this list once a month.

37201. The Betrayal of the Self: The Fear of Autonomy in …

Arno Gruen

Love or power ? these are the opposing poles of a choice every child is compelled to make, very early in its life, in a drama that sets it irrevocably on its path through life. This startling new insight into a formative experience fundamental to our development is the subject …

37202. Henry, King of France

Heinrich Mann

In Henry, King of France, the sequel to Young Henry of Navarre, the compelling epic of Henry IV's reign over France is followed to its tragic destiny. The novel recounts two decades of chaos and war that led to the triumphant founding of the French Republic and culminated in the …

37205. Nightmares & Dreamscapes

Stephen King

Nightmares & Dreamscapes is a short story collection by Stephen King published in 1993.

37206. The Old Child & Other Stories

Jenny Erpenbeck

The Old Child & Other Stories introduces in English one of Germany’s most original and brilliant young authors, Jenny Erpenbeck. Written in spare, highly concentrated language, "a sustained feat of verbal economy" (Die Zeit), the one novella and four stories in The Old Child …

37225. Traveling on One Leg

Herta Müller

Traveling on One Leg is a novel by Nobel Prize-winning author Herta Müller, published in German in 1989 by Rotbuch Verlag. An English translation was made available in 1998. The protagonist Irene is a German-speaking woman in her mid-thirties who has just emigrated from Romania …

37245. Sons and Lovers

D. H. Lawrence

Sons and Lovers is a 1913 novel by the English writer D. H. Lawrence. The Modern Library placed it ninth on their list of the 100 best novels of the 20th century. While the novel initially incited a lukewarm critical reception, along with allegations of obscenity, it is today …

37260. The City

Max Weber

The City is a book by Max Weber, a German economist and sociologist. It was published posthumously in 1921. In 1924 it was incorporated into a larger book, Economy and Society. An English translation was made in 1958 and several editions have been released since then. It is …

37266. Sonnets to Orpheus

Rainer Maria Rilke

The Sonnets to Orpheus are a cycle of 55 sonnets written in 1922 by the Bohemian-Austrian poet Rainer Maria Rilke. It was first published the following year. Rilke, who is "widely recognized as one of the most lyrically intense German-language poets," wrote the cycle in a period …

37280. Mr. Justice Raffles

E. W. Hornung

Mr. Justice Raffles was a 1909 novel written by E.W. Hornung. It featured his popular character A. J. Raffles a well-known cricketer and gentleman thief. It was the fourth and last in his four Raffles books which had begun with The Amateur Cracksman in 1899. Unlike the three …

37292. The Ghost Drum

Susan Price

The Ghost Drum is a children's fantasy novel by Susan Price, published by Faber in 1987, and the first book in the Ghost World trilogy. It is an original fairy tale using elements from Russian history and Russian folklore. Like many traditional tales it is full of cruelty, …

37302. Autumn Street

Lois Lowry

Autumn Street is a 1980 novel by two-time Newbery Award-winning author Lois Lowry.

37323. Some Folk Think the South Pole's Hot: The Three …

Elke Heidenreich

Sprightly rhymed couplets tell this lengthy surreal tale of the nattily dressed penguins who joyfully welcome the Opera Ship from Old Vienna to the South Pole. And who should be onboard but the legendary Three Tenors! The excited, already properly attired audience includes …

37328. The Economics and Ethics of Private Property

Hans-Hermann Hoppe

The Economics and Ethics of Private Property: Studies in Political Economy and Philosophy by Hans-Hermann Hoppe was first published in 1993 followed by a second edition in 2006.

37340. Ravensoul

James Barclay

Ravensoul is a book published in 2008 that was written by James Barclay.

37349. Silent Witness

Patricia Rushford

Silent Witness is a book written by Patricia Rushford.

37360. God's architect

Rosemary Hill

God's architect is the book written by Rosemary Hill.

37363. The Werewolf and the Wormlord

Hugh Cook

The Werewolf and the Wormlord is a book published in 1991 that was written by Hugh Cook.

37372. The Great Game: The Emergence of Wall Street as a …

John Steele Gordon

The Great Game: The Emergence of Wall Street as a World Power: 1653–2000 is a non-fiction book on business history by John Steele Gordon. The book was initially published on November 16, 1999 by Scribner.

37377. Locker 13

R. L. Stine

Locker 13 is a book published in 2000 that was written by R. L. Stine.

37380. The Long Shadow of Little Rock: A Memoir

Daisy Bates

The Long Shadow of Little Rock: A Memoir is a book written by Daisy Bates.

37389. The Time Machine

H. G. Wells

The Time Machine is a science fiction novella by H. G. Wells, published in 1895. Wells is generally credited with the popularization of the concept of time travel by using a vehicle that allows an operator to travel purposefully and selectively. The term "time machine", coined …

37394. Billy Elliot the Musical

Lee Hall

Billy Elliot the Musical is a musical based on the 2000 film Billy Elliot. The music is by Elton John, and the book and lyrics are by Lee Hall, who wrote the film's screenplay. The plot revolves around motherless Billy, who trades boxing gloves for ballet shoes. The story of his …

37396. Bridge to Terabithia

Katherine Paterson

Bridge to Terabithia is a work of children's literature about two lonely children who create a magical forest kingdom. It was written by Katherine Paterson and was published in 1977 by Thomas Crowell. In 1978, it won the Newbery Medal. Paterson drew inspiration for the novel …

37398. Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic …

Deborah Feldman

The instant New York Times bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman’s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape.The Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism is as mysterious as it is intriguing to outsiders. In this arresting …

37399. Eyeshield 21 (37)

Riichiro Inagaki

Catch all the bone-crushing action and slapstick comedy of Japan's hottest football manga!Reads R to L (Japanese Style). Final Volume! Ready Set Hut In this action-packed final volume, Team USA and Team Japan face off in a bid for the title of best youth football team in the …

37400. Norse Mythology

Neil Gaiman

Introducing an instant classic―master storyteller Neil Gaiman presents a dazzling version of the great Norse myths.Neil Gaiman has long been inspired by ancient mythology in creating the fantastical realms of his fiction. Now he turns his attention back to the source, presenting …



continue with book 37401 - 37600