The most popular books in English.

What books are currently the most popular and which are the all time classics? Here we present you with a mixture of those two criteria. We update this list once a month.

37201. The Betrayal of the Self: The Fear of Autonomy in …

Arno Gruen

Love or power ? these are the opposing poles of a choice every child is compelled to make, very early in its life, in a drama that sets it irrevocably on its path through life. This startling new insight into a formative experience fundamental to our development is the subject …

37202. Henry, King of France

Heinrich Mann

In Henry, King of France, the sequel to Young Henry of Navarre, the compelling epic of Henry IV's reign over France is followed to its tragic destiny. The novel recounts two decades of chaos and war that led to the triumphant founding of the French Republic and culminated in the …

37203. Bob the gambler

Frederick Barthelme

What I'd always liked about Biloxi was the decay, the things falling apart, the crap along the beach, the skeletons of abandoned hotels, the trashy warehouses and the rundown piers jutting out into the dirty water, so I wasn't thrilled that in the last five years our dinky coast …

37214. The Mismeasure of Desire: The Science, Theory, and …

Edward Stein

The Mismeasure of Desire: The Science, Theory, and Ethics of Sexual Orientation is a 1999 book about sexual orientation research by philosopher Edward Stein. Part of the "Ideologies of Desire" series edited by queer theorist David M. Halperin, the work has been praised by …

37220. Settlement

Christoph Hein

Settlement is a book written by Christoph Hein.

37224. The Glass Canoe

David Ireland

The Glass Canoe is a Miles Franklin Award winning novel by Australian author David Ireland. It is about a man who spends his life at the pub, seeing the world through his beer glass - a glass canoe.

37227. Traveling on One Leg

Herta Müller

Traveling on One Leg is a novel by Nobel Prize-winning author Herta Müller, published in German in 1989 by Rotbuch Verlag. An English translation was made available in 1998. The protagonist Irene is a German-speaking woman in her mid-thirties who has just emigrated from Romania …

37237. Cosmic Dawn: The Origins of Matter and Life

Eric Chaisson

Cosmic Dawn: The Origins of Matter and Life is a book written by Eric Chaisson.

37251. The World Swappers

John Brunner

The World Swappers is a science fiction novel by John Brunner. It was first published in the United States in 1959, as one half of Ace Double D-391. The other half was Siege of the Unseen by A. E. van Vogt. Reprinted by Ace 1967, 1976.

37262. Germany. A Winter's Tale

Heinrich Heine

Germany. A Winter's Tale is a satirical epic poem by the German writer Heinrich Heine, describing the thoughts of a journey from Paris to Hamburg the author made in Winter 1843. The title refers to Shakespeare's Winter's Tale, similar to his poem Atta Troll: Ein …

37264. The City

Max Weber

The City is a book by Max Weber, a German economist and sociologist. It was published posthumously in 1921. In 1924 it was incorporated into a larger book, Economy and Society. An English translation was made in 1958 and several editions have been released since then. It is …

37280. Death Turns the Tables

John Dickson Carr

Death Turns the Tables, first published in 1941, is a detective story by John Dickson Carr which features Carr's series detective Gideon Fell. This novel is a mystery of the type known as a whodunnit.

37300. Underwater Adventure

Willard Price

Underwater Adventure is a 1954 children's book by the Canadian-born American author Willard Price featuring his "Adventure" series characters, Hal and Roger Hunt. The book is about how they go diving and snorkelling for the Oceanographic institute, with a braggish and …

37304. Inhibitions, symptoms and anxiety

Sigmund Freud

Inhibitions, Symptoms and Anxiety is the 1926 book written by Sigmund Freud.

37306. Batman: Fear Itself

Michael Reaves

Batman: Fear Itself is a novel set in the universe of DC Comics superhero Batman by science fiction authors Michael Reaves and Steven-Elliot Altman. The novel features the Scarecrow as its primary antagonist. The novel is a sequel to Batman: Dead White and Batman: Inferno.

37315. Prior Convictions

Lia Matera

Prior Convictions is a book written by Lia Matera.

37316. Flowers for Algernon

Daniel Keyes

Flowers for Algernon is a science fiction short story and subsequent novel written by Daniel Keyes. The short story, written in 1958 and first published in the April 1959 issue of The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, won the Hugo Award for Best Short Story in 1960. The …

37344. The Company They Keep: C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien …

Diana Pavlac Glyer

The Company They Keep: C. S. Lewis and J. R. R. Tolkien as Writers in Community is a non-fiction book written by Diana Pavlac Glyer, an Inklings scholar and English professor at Azusa Pacific University. The Company They Keep challenges the commonly held belief that the Inklings …

37356. Deviant Love

Sigmund Freud

Deviant Love is a book by Sigmund Freud.

37360. Cloud Busting

Malorie Blackman

Despite his Mum's insistence, Sam doesn't want to be friends with Davey, he thinks Davey's a first class, grade A, top of the dung heap moron. But one day Davey saves Sam's life and a bond is formed between them. Sam is still embarrassed to be seen with Davey, but little by …

37387. Lemon in the Basket

Charlotte Armstrong

Lemon in the Basket is a book written by Charlotte Armstrong.

37388. The Isis Pedlar

Monica Hughes

The Isis Pedlar is a young adult science fiction novel by Monica Hughes, the third in the Isis series, following The Guardian of Isis. It was first published in 1982. The book takes place in the distant future on the fictional world of Isis. Nine years have passed since the …

37391. The Bloodwater Mysteries

Pete Hautman

The Bloodwater Mysteries is a book by Pete Hautman and Mary Logue.

37398. Then They Came for Me

Maziar Bahari

Then They Came for Me: A Family's Story of Love, Captivity, and Survival is a memoir by Iranian Canadian journalist Maziar Bahari with Aimee Molloy, chronicling Bahari's family history, and his arrest and 118-day imprisonment following the controversial 2009 Iran presidential …

37400. Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic …

Deborah Feldman

The instant New York Times bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman’s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape.The Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism is as mysterious as it is intriguing to outsiders. In this arresting …



continue with book 37401 - 37600