The most popular books in English.

What books are currently the most popular and which are the all time classics? Here we present you with a mixture of those two criteria. We update this list once a month.

37817. A crown for the king

Solomon ibn Gabirol

A crown for the king is a work written by Solomon ibn Gabirol.

37841. The Betrayal of the Self: The Fear of Autonomy in …

Arno Gruen

Love or power ? these are the opposing poles of a choice every child is compelled to make, very early in its life, in a drama that sets it irrevocably on its path through life. This startling new insight into a formative experience fundamental to our development is the subject …

37848. The Old Child & Other Stories

Jenny Erpenbeck

The Old Child & Other Stories introduces in English one of Germany’s most original and brilliant young authors, Jenny Erpenbeck. Written in spare, highly concentrated language, "a sustained feat of verbal economy" (Die Zeit), the one novella and four stories in The Old Child …

37866. Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic …

Deborah Feldman

The instant New York Times bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman’s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape.The Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism is as mysterious as it is intriguing to outsiders. In this arresting …

37882. Tell Me Why, Mummy

David Thomas

The inspirational true story of one man overcoming enormous odds – including sexual abuse from his alcoholic mother – to choose his own path in life and become a truly exceptional human being.From the age of four David Thomas was sexually abused by his alcoholic mother and …

37923. Leigjandinn

Svava Jakobsdóttir

Leigjandinn is a book writen by Svava Jakobsdóttir.

37929. Around the World in Eighty Days

Jules Verne

Around the World in Eighty Days is a classic adventure novel by the French writer Jules Verne, published in 1873. In the story, Phileas Fogg of London and his newly employed French valet Passepartout attempt to circumnavigate the world in 80 days on a £20,000 wager set by his …

37936. Blue Island

Jean Raspail

Blue Island is a 1988 novel by the French writer Jean Raspail. The narrative is set in Touraine during World War II, where a charismatic boy gathers his friends on an island, where they play war games which become increasingly more interlinked with reality. The book was …

37955. Internationalism or Russification?

Ivan Dzi︠u︡ba

Internationalism or Russification? is a book by Ukrainian writer and social activist Ivan Dziuba, written in September-December 1965.



continue with book 38001 - 38200